Last Antarctic Blog

Pearl’s Final Blog

Hello everyone! I am sorry I have not written for so long, I have been very busy at Rothera this last summer season, and I am afraid I sort of forgot to do it. Now I am home, back in the UK. It all seems a long way away, but before I leave this blog I want to share one last experience with you. So I will tell you about a trip away from Rothera.

A lot of the science that is done from Rothera is done hundreds of miles away “in the field”, although with no grass around there are no actual fields. What this means is that one or more scientists take all their equipment and Antarctic survival experts (field guides) and get flown to where they need to work.

Some need to go on top of sea ice, some need to explore mountains and others might need to look at glaciers. Sometimes just two people are left in the middle of no-where with a tent and two skidoos.

However some of the groups are big, with about 15 people and some bigger vehicles. I went out with Bryony to visit some of the people working out in Antarctica. We had some long flights and had to stop at a place called Sky Blu to get more fuel. Here I am with Stuart the mechanic:

Stewie and Pearl refueling

Stewie and Pearl refuelling

We went to one of the big camps, they had lots of little tents for people to stay in. Here I am in one:

Tent

They also had quite a big toilet tent, you have to wee in one point in the snow, and poo in a bucket which is taken back to Rothera to burn. We can’t leave any pollution in Antarctica.

Loo

We spent over a week flying around Antarctica, staying at the bigger field camp and going with a couple of field guides to set up a smaller camp. This meant digging up a depot that had been left there last winter:

Do you know the main thing I noticed after flying for 4 hours on the main bit of Antarctica? It is very very white and very very flat.

Snow

There are some lovely mountains in some bits, but a lot is just massive areas of flat white. It made me think people who walked over these areas for months on end must be very brave. Or mad!

I had a wonderful second summer season and cannot believe the 18 months is now over. I was very sad to leave Rothera and Antarctica. I hope to go back one day, but for now I have some fantastic memories.

 

 

Leave a Reply

